Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
 Are bigger cartridges really better? >

Are bigger cartridges really better?

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Are bigger cartridges really better?

Old 08-22-2008, 11:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Are bigger cartridges really better?

DM, you're alright!

One thing I should add, I was not comfortable with my magnum at first. Even though I had shot guns all my life. I put a muzzle brake on it. After putting the brake on it, I started shooting it pretty good, pretty quick. Without the brake it would have taken me much longer to get use to it. Even though I am a magnum fan, I would bet there are a bunch of new shooters that sale their magnums very quickly. I would recommend shooting a buddies magnum before buying one. Magnums are an aquired taste, just like good whiskey!
Old 08-24-2008, 11:19 AM
Nontypical Buck

A magnum (e.g. .300 WM,.338 WM, etc.) "can", all other things being the same, provide an advantage on large heavy boned, tough hide animals like Elk over a less powerful caliber. But is it necessary to have a successful hunt? Obviously not.
But it's just one of dozens, if not more, factors in the whole equation and does NOT guarantee success on hunting such animals.
You need the bullet weight, to hit the animal where it needs to, at the distance you need it to, with the force, weightretentionto carry through and do the damage to the internals necessary to bring the animal down quickly without making the majority of the meat into instant blood shot ground meat. Caliber you choose, can only affect some, not all of those factors.
Of course, this is assuming you've done everything else right to even spot, stalk and get the shot on the animal you need to make any of this relevant.