Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Shot or no shot?

Old 04-16-2008, 11:49 PM

Default Shot or no shot?

Scenario:
Evening with 20 minutes of shooting light available
Bear at 372 yards.
Slight breeze left to right
TC Pro Hunter w/300 Win Mag & Burris Feildview II scope.

My Options:
1. Take the shot.
2. Try to close the distance for a better shot.
3. Try a predator call to see if the bear will close the distance for me.
4. Take a couple pictures and leave the bear to his onion patch.

I took option 4. What would you do?

I am a veteran elk and deer hunter, but novice bear hunter. I drew out a good bear hunt unit in Idaho near where I live. The spring season for this hunt lasts until the end of May. I spotted this bear across a canyon from about 800 yards out. I closed the distance on my side of a steep canyon to within 370+ yards with the bear on the other side.

I thought of option 1, but I recently purchased the TC last week, and sighted it in at 100 yards. I know that the rifle and cartridge is very capable of making the long shot, but I have never shot at anything over 200 yards. It was not a confidant shot for me. If I made a bad shot, then I’d be looking for a wounded bear with a flashlight.

I thought of option 2, but I would have to scale down a steep decline of about 100 yards, then up another steep incline the same distance to get a better shot. With the fading light I didn’t feel I had the time.

I gave option 3 a try. All the bear did was look up at me, then sit down and go back to chowing on mountain onions. (I probably didn’t sound all that good on the call anyways).