Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
 hunting w/ outfitter newbie here >

hunting w/ outfitter newbie here

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

hunting w/ outfitter newbie here

Old 05-24-2007, 10:56 PM

Default hunting w/ outfitter newbie here

Ive been a missourri deer hunter since I was old enough to go. allways went down to some bodys place, asked permission to hunt and if permission was given id go hunting. id allways close any gates I opened and tried to be courteouse as possible.
Now ive been a soldier in Irak for the last year and have been thinking about what kind of vacation I want to take. And ive allways wanted to go carabou or go after elk some where where they have never even seen a fence before in there lives. that would be the thing.
Thing is Ive never worked with an out fitter before or guide. and I dont know the lay of the land there. for instance, I dont know if I can go this fall or does it take to long to plan this?
I was wondering if any one knew of a good outfitter in the USA for wild elk (no tame fenced in, live like cattle things) kind of a hunt/camp trip?
I really would appreciate some advice on this endeavor. thanks
Old 05-25-2007, 07:28 AM
RMA
Fork Horn

Default RE: hunting w/ outfitter newbie here

Call Crazy Horse Outfitters here in CO. Ask for Willie and tell him Don sent you. He can fit any need you have and will treat you like family.
Old 05-25-2007, 07:26 PM

i am a new outfitter in wyoming and tags are always available in our area. We have alarge private cattle ranch with wild elk on it. They do see fences but they just step over them and go where ever they want. We try to fence them out not in. We are more open country, not a typical farest elk hunt, but a succesful huntfor desert elk or migrating elk. Let me know if you want more info.
Peterson Outfitters

Old 05-26-2007, 07:00 AM
Nontypical Buck