HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Opinions on the Remington 700 XCR (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/186337-opinions-remington-700-xcr.html)

KEH75 03-29-2007 12:34 AM

Opinions on the Remington 700 XCR

As previously expressed in my original post, I'm new to hunting and I'm currently in the process of trying to make up my mind on a rifle. I keep coming back to the Remington 700 XCR in 30.06. I'm looking for something that will cover everything from deer to elk or even moose. The .06 seems to have a wide range of grain weights to cover all of these. Seems like a pretty good allaround caliber. And as for the XCR it seems like a pretty good rifle for the money from what I gather on other reviews, though they seem hard to come by. I have put myself on a budget of somewhere around $700 or under for the first one and this rifle falls right into that. Like I said I'm really new and looking for feedback from those of you with a ton more experience than what I have and if you have any experience or pros/cons regarding the XCR. Just want to see where I'm with my assessment. Thanks in advance for your input!!!

CamoCop 03-29-2007 02:55 AM

RE: Opinions on the Remington 700 XCR

http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=2066508

i sure hope you have deep pockets and ALOT of time since it looks as if you are trying to master every type of hunting at once.

Folically Challenged 03-29-2007 04:29 AM

Your caliber selection will take you an awfully long way. Though there may be better choices for each of the species you've listed, there's not likely a better choice for the group.