Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
Spot -n- stalk.. how too?? >

Spot -n- stalk.. how too??

Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.
 Nosler

Spot -n- stalk.. how too??

Old 01-12-2002, 12:17 AM

Default Spot -n- stalk.. how too??

Greetings,

I have been hunting in NW Oregon, Stott Mt district, for 5 years now, Deer mostly, but two years ago I started on elk, and I small game hunt in the off seasons while scouting.
My partner and I have ahbitually scouted in the preseason as much as time allowed, then during the hunt we sit in a stand for morning and evening, and either go home for lunch ( on the lazy days) or scout around hoping to find something during the midday. ( From around 10 or 11 am to as late as 3pm ) We have been marginally sucessful, got two very nice bucks 2 years ago, and he filled his doe tags both years he drew one. But I wonder if we would be more successful if we changed our tactics. I just am not sure how. We jumped a buck during elk season two years ago, ( let him go of course, he wasnt in season. ) and this last year I had a buck come within 15 yards of me when I stopped to check some sign, ( during elk season again, of course ) but we have not ever tried to stalk in to them, and I think we might like too.

Any replies are helpful
Old 01-12-2002, 08:49 PM

Default RE: Spot -n- stalk.. how too??

AUDI,