Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
 Elk hunting during the rut >

Elk hunting during the rut

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Elk hunting during the rut

Old 12-08-2005, 03:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Elk hunting during the rut

So, I got this rifle tag to hunt elk during the rut. Now I've been elk hunting for the last 10 years but only for spikes as they are the only option during the general season here in E. Wash. And the hunt is always the end of Oct./ beginning of Nov. I've got no experience hunting elk in the rut other than the 100 videos I've seen on what it looks like.

You guys have any tips or suggestions? Is there anything you thing you should or shouldn't do? The area we're going has a lot of hunters in it but also a lot of elk so I expect to have to work kinda hard to get a decent bull. I already plan on hiking my butt off to get away from most of the other hunters but I've never hunted the area so I'm not sure what the area is like other than forested hills about 5k to 7k feet elevation.
Old 12-08-2005, 04:13 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Elk hunting during the rut

Since I know where your hunting I can tell you it's very steep and depending on where you are can range from very brushy to a 500 yard clearcut. I don't hunt during the rut but I would just locate a bull that is bugling and sneak in using judicious cow calling to cover your approach. But be careful there will probably be a bunch of idiots out there bugling like crazy so identify your target and go for bulls that are down in the rugged stuff because it's less likely to be a hunter.