HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Antler Growth (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/10585-antler-growth.html)

Whitetail632 09-23-2002 04:01 PM

Antler Growth

I was wondering what stimulates antler growth in Elk and Whitetail Deer. Had an argument at work about this subject.

jjt 09-26-2002 03:51 AM

RE: Antler Growth

first of all i am not a scientist but from what i have read and talked about there are three things the
1. genetics
2. proper nutrition and minerals
3. age

if you look into velvet(elk) raisers you will find the same answers i gave and i would classify them as the experts

trmichels 10-13-2002 02:18 PM

What "stimulates" re-growth of antlers is the increasing hours of daylight in the spring, which stimulates the pineal gland in the brain, which regulates hormone levels. This causes increased blood flow to the antler pedicel and the growth/deposit of new bone in the antler.
What "determines" how large antlers grow is age, nutrition (food and minerals), the health of the animal, genetics, and water. If there isn't enough water for good forage growth, then there is poor forage and poor antler production. If the animal is undernourished, injured or sick during the time it is growing antlers, it will have poor antler growth.
Whitetails generally aren't full grown until they are over 4 years old; elk aren't full grown until they are about 7 years old. Until they are full grown most of the nutrients needed for antler growth go into bone and muscle production. Once the animal is full grown it can start growing antlers, which often leads to longer tines and more mass that you see in older deer and elk.

If you have more questions on deer, elk, turkey, ducks or geese ask me and I will try to answer.

T.R. Michels, writer, speaker
Trinity Mountain Outdoors
[email protected]

T.R. Michels