Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
 Need help for Colorado elk hunt.. >

Need help for Colorado elk hunt..

Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Need help for Colorado elk hunt..

Old 07-08-2005, 10:00 AM

Default Need help for Colorado elk hunt..

I am going on my secon trip to Gunnison National Forest this year to hunt. I need as much advise as possible. I found elk 2 years a go, but I was a rookie who stumbled upon them and didnt really know how to hunt these beautiful animals. I have read the tips on the top of this page, but I need some info on finding elk in Colorado. There are plenty of Aspens and oak brush. Do I need to focus on water holes or just walk until I find sign..? I need help.. I want this to bea great trip! I surely dont want to do something stupid. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 07-08-2005, 10:58 AM

Default RE: Need help for Colorado elk hunt..

A lot depends on what seasonyour are hunting, get a good topo map, and my first tip is make sure your in great shape, get off jeep and ATV trails and hike back into area's that are not easy to get to. I'm sure some of the guys have great tips as well, read books, and mag articles, talk to knowledgable elk hunters in your area. Learn how to use cow calls, and what gear to have in your day pack, weather is very unpredictable out here in Colorado, know what to carry and what not to carry. Learn the lay of the land before you get here, I hope you get a lot of folks sharing advice with you..

Dr. Mike
Old 07-08-2005, 11:51 AM
Nontypical Buck

In my mind elk need 3 basic things to survive.
1.Food
2.Water
3. Security
Elk do not like traffic,they also like the easiest routs to and from,food,cover and water.
If you can find a drainige,pocket of timber that offers this you will find elk.