Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.
 Nosler

elk Taxidermy?

Old 07-01-2005, 09:06 AM

Default elk Taxidermy?

I got my elk back from the taxidermist yesterday. I had him mounted in a bugle pose. He looks great! The detail is terrific. You can see blood vessels bulging, tear duct flared etc. One problem though. He has his teeth bared. It kind of bothers me. I've never seen an elk bare his teeth while bugling. Now, lord knows I'm no expert. Am I mistaken? Is this a common occurance?
Old 07-01-2005, 09:17 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: elk Taxidermy?

Alot and I mean alot of taxadermists mount a elk with their teeth showing,sometimes it's ok and others they look like Mr.ED with horns.
The worst one I ever saw was this gal whomI was dating well her dad had shot a nice bullsometime before,he had it mounted with its mouth wide open and toung sticking out like a big ol yawn.
BBJ
Old 07-01-2005, 09:17 AM

Shato what is a bugling elk mount costing these days. I am going on my first elk hunt and have high hopes I can kill one big enough to mount.
Old 07-01-2005, 09:21 AM

My bugling elk shoulder mount cost $850. Its excellent work. It doesn't look like "mr ed". It really looks nice, the teeth just surprised me. It is very lifelike, you can almost imagine him walking out of the wall. I'm not complaining at all. I've found some Pics on the web of elk bugling and in some you definately can see their teeth.
Old 07-01-2005, 01:33 PM