Airgun Hunting The Silent Killers - Discuss hunting with airguns, equipment, tactics, and everything else

First backyard hunt

Old 03-29-2017, 11:12 PM
Spike

Default First backyard hunt

Hello,

One of my friends asked me to control the rabbit population in their backyard.
I've never done this before and I've never shot an animal before as I'm the first in my family who's interested in hunting.

I do regularly watch Youtube videos of people pest controlling small game like rabbits and pigeons (and I've learned a lot from these) and videos on how to shoot accurately to be as humane as possible.

Could you fellow forum-users help me by giving me tips and useful information on getting started?

Thank you very much in advance

Hatsan97
Old 03-30-2017, 06:29 AM
Giant Nontypical

First tip---Check with all the authorities to make sure it would even be legal to do what you're talking about. You may not even be allowed to shoot an air rifle if that friend's property is within city limits in a lot of places. If it's allowed, you very well may also need to have a legal hunting license through the state G&F, etc.
Old 03-31-2017, 07:31 AM
Spike

Originally Posted by Topgun 3006
First tip---Check with all the authorities to make sure it would even be legal to do what you're talking about. You may not even be allowed to shoot an air rifle if that friend's property is within city limits in a lot of places. If it's allowed, you very well may also need to have a legal hunting license through the state G&F, etc.
Thanks, but I am allowed to shoot an air rifle on the property as it is a farm and away from any city by at least 20 miles.
Old 03-31-2017, 07:34 AM
Super Moderator