HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Frequently Asked Questions to produce the best homemade sausages.
Old 11-25-2013, 11:33 AM
friscospices.com
Fork Horn

Default Frequently Asked Questions to produce the best homemade sausages.

My name is Mike and I am the owner here at FriscoSpices and I have been making sausage for over 25 years and teaching classes to our customers for about 10 years now.

I have refined these techniques over the past 25 years and I can promise if you apply these*methods combined with Frisco Spice sausage blends you, your family, and your friends will enjoy the best sausage you have ever made.

Sausage Making Tips

Once I have properly cared for my wild game meat in the field and processed the meat myself what should I do next?
I always refrigerate my wild game uncovered, on a raised drip screen in a bucket or lug to help with drying the blood. After a day or two I will grind all of my game into 10LB and 2LB meat bags. Then these can go in the freezer for at least a few days or whenever you’re ready to start making sausage. I freeze the ground meat mainly to kill any bacteria but also when we thaw it this allows one more time for some of the blood to be leeched out, this helps get rid of any remaining wild game taste. With this being done, you now have meat ready for homemade sausages. Wild Game can be used with any of our recipes. Of course each sausage is made differently and each would require some other meat, either pork or beef to be added to your wild game to make your finished product moist and most importantly that it tastes better than your buddies.

What if I either run out of wild game or do not want to use it in sausage making?