HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - DIY Bear down!
Thread: DIY Bear down!
View Single Post
Old 09-09-2013, 04:00 PM
Bukmastr
Typical Buck

Default DIY Bear down!

If you want to kill big bears consistently there is a lot more to it than just throwing a few baits out and crossing your fingers.
I have been hunting bears in northern Minnesota for about 6 years now. (Many more years in Wisconsin ) You used to draw a tag almost every year, now its every other year or so. The hunting is not easy, there is a lot of pressure, and some of that pressure is not to friendly to non-resident do-it-yourselfers. Seems like there are guiding operations running out of almost every camp ground. Some of the areas we map scouted we found baits already right where they should be...
Baiting bears is all about location. You need to be where bears want to be. Near there bedding and away from humans. I spent a great deal of time studying topo's and aerials of the area and then making scouting trips to look for actual bear sign, and hunting pressure.
I took 3 hunting friends and my wife Carol with me, two with tags, and 2 to help. Bear hunting is tough, and so is running a bear camp. Tyler came with to camp and help get bears out of the woods and to help film my hunt. . He would like to earn his way to come along next hunt with a kill tag. Carol came to cook, and guard camp from the "unfriendlys" while we hunted. Steve Pagal ( owner of Forge bow company ) came to hunt. He was invited along because he is a pretty dang good bear hunter and its a way to pay back for all he has done for me as a sponsor. John Kitscha was invited along because he is a good friend, has helped me a ton with product design ( like my camera arm )
It was a long 8 1/2 hour drive (one way) for us to bait. In Minnesota we can only bait for a couple weeks prior to the season