HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - carry weapon and thinking out side my own head
Old 02-21-2011, 05:35 AM
bigtim6656
Giant Nontypical

How I dress depends on where I am at, here in indiana 90% of the time I have jeans with a belt, t shirt maybe a jacket depending on the weather. Normally my shirts are worn out not tucked in, if I wear shorts normally their the athletic type with no belt, I did order some blue jean shorts for the ability of wearing a belt when I carried that way. In indiana I should be ok, if I can not conceal due to wearing a t shirt only and no jacket or open shirt I can open carry, with a smaller gun I think my shirt would cover the gun with no issue. I doubt the 21 will ever me concealed this way.

My parents rented a house in florida, I am looking at summer here in indiana then back to florida in oct or nov till april may and back here for the summer. I am a college student and can take my fall and spring classes online, the next two summers my classes are on campus only
Down there it will be shorts 90% of the time, Tshirt, no jacket and so on. This is where I see the shoulder holster working, I figure I can wear a button up shirt with it open, not going to make it 100% hidden but I think it will fit the florida law which says no open carry, if I am not mistaken.
I love the glock, and have been looking and planning on a 9mm to match my 45. My thought is get a 9mm compact or sub compact with a shoulder holster, use this setup when I go to say miami, or somewhere I need to hide the gun with thin light clothes on.

When I go fishing, hunting or for a drive into say the everglades wear the glock 21 on the belt covered by my shirt. My understanding is open carry is ok in florida if your going fishing, hunting or any other outdoor activity.

I want to carry, this is why I got my permit, I just want to carry safely and make sure I do not hurt someone with a accidental fire.