HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Mixed breed dogs-Good Hunters????
View Single Post
Old 05-11-2008, 09:21 PM
Breachin

Default RE: Mixed breed dogs-Good Hunters????

This may come off weird but all dogs are have a natural talent to smell anything! I got 11 great danes 8 of them are pups. Anyhow, these dogs were used primarlily for big game hunting and royal family guardians back in the day. My thing about dogs and hunting are its fun to have a retriever dog, a coon dog, and a family pet. So I stuck to my great danes. Very powerful dogs weigh in at a massive 205llbs and 42'' to the shoulder. I used to get off my school bus and see King (my pride and joy) come flying down the hill to meet me and knock me over lick me all over the face, he is truly a great dog. Two years ago I started training 2 pups I kept from one of Kings litters to hunt coons. Great Danes are far from stupid so it wasn't as hard as my old blue tick. Really all it takes is time and any dog is going to be a good hunting dog.