HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Sabots
Thread: Sabots
View Single Post
Old 04-07-2007, 12:49 PM
uncle matt
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Sabots

44857, my suggestion ............

As an Illinois deer hunter I have been slug hunting my entire life. I've shot alot of slugs. I've been using a rifled barrel shotguns for about 15 years I guess.

I am quite familiar with the NEF/H&R guns. I have been shooting my 12 gauge USH Deluxe since they were released in 1995 (?) and I also have a 20 gauge standard USH my boys use.

I've trying all the various sabot offerings over the years. What about 30 or 40of them? Each and every one of them promoted as better, faster, more accurate, more lethal, more this, more that.

Paul is quite right in that most USH owners don't get too good of results from the faster offerings. Most likely due to the twist rate of the rifling. And the guys whoare telling you that each gun can have it's own preference are telling you straight. But finding out what most like is the smart way to go. IMO taking what they say and starting thereis a good start.

I shoot non-sabot slugs from my 12. Brenneke 3" Gold Magnums and
2-3/4"Heavy FieldMagnums. I haven't been able to get any better accuracy from any of the sabots I've experimented with. Some sabots can almost duplicate the accuracy, but most deliver noticably worse accuracy in my 12 gauge.

Then there's the cost factor. Maybe $7 for a box ofGold Mags, $5 for Heavy Field Magnums. Versus what $15/box minimumfor sabots with many near $20/box or more depending on where you shop.