Community

Team 4 The Rejects

Old 05-18-2017, 12:29 PM
Nontypical Buck

Hey Jake - is that a NEF 10 ga leaning against the tree?
Old 05-18-2017, 06:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

Arrows best bird 'only' scored 57 - we're alone in the lead boys!
Old 05-19-2017, 02:32 AM
Super Moderator

It's a H&R Model 176. It's a beast and holds a nice pattern farther than I'm even comfortable shooting under hunting conditions. It dropped this bird at 46 yards and it never even flopped, just folded up and laid there. Was stone dead by the time I ran over to it, and I did run, I'm always afraid of losing one.

So I hunted tuesday morning, but the wife had plans for me at nine so I had to be out of the woods by 8 to be home by 830. On tuesday I had a hen out in front of me for a while, and got to listen to her talk. It was a good learning experience, as this is my first year calling myself. I didn't hear or see any gobblers though. On Wednesday morning I headed back to the same area that I saw the hen, but set up a little farther down the field edge near where she spent most of her time. Again, she was out in the field, and again I watched her for about forty minutes. After she left I decided I'd move to a different area of the property. I also wanted to set out a game camera on the way there.

So, I headed across the property, set up my camera and headed over to where my second set up would be. I set my decoy out, and started to call. Immediately I heard a gobble, which is the first gobble I've heard all spring. The bird was at the far corner of the field, and below my line of sight, but I kept calling and he kept gobbling and I could tell he was coming my way. I was a little exposed where I was sitting for the direction he was coming from, so I laid down prone in the grass, so just that long barrel end was sticking out into the field... I really didn't want to shoot that ten gauge from that position, but figured it would hide me better.