Team #4 Rut Raiders

Old 09-27-2014, 06:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

I don't know if you call it early season jitters or what. I saw 7 deer in tonight's sit. I took a shot at a fairly large doe and I think I hit something with my arrow. She was 22 yards broadside. I didn't see anything in the way but it looked like it deflected off of something. This always happens to me at least one time every year. Hopefully I got it out of the way early and I will be good from here on out. I probably won't get back out until Monday evening. Possibly Monday morning.
Old 09-28-2014, 12:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

I had to take the bow out between services today just to check after that shot last night. I shot at that doe at 22 yards. So, I set my target up at 22 yards and aimed at the black dot in the center which is a little bigger than a quarter. I split that dot in half. So, even if I was off on my aim a little bit I should have nailed that doe with ease, and it's not like I'm an amateur or anything, I have close to 80 bow kills under my belt when you combine my crossbow and compound kills together. Probably another 10 kills with a shotgun. Then numerous more kills of other critters. Heck, I've even shot a few squirrels with my bow. So, I have definitely come to the conclusion I definitely hit something with that arrow I did not see. Enough ranting, lol. It's time to get back out there on Monday and put one down!!!!! Good luck to everyone else as well!!!!!
Old 09-28-2014, 06:23 PM
Super Moderator

Get back out and slap one MOTF. It happens, be thankful you didn't wound her! I watched two button bucks saturday evening and let them walk. I really wanted an opening day archery deer, but decided to let the buttons live another day! I won't be back out until friday morning unfortunately!
-Jake
Old 09-29-2014, 06:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

Thanks man. I will be back in the stand this evening.
Old 09-29-2014, 07:52 AM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by ManofTheFall