Team #10 - Chasin' Tail Check-in

Old 09-06-2012, 06:04 PM
Typical Buck

Wink

Well I guess I'll be busy this weekend sighting in my new broadheads that just came in the mail. Called Ramcats,been wating since the 17th for them. Buddy of mine swears by them and also says they shoot right out of the package like his field points. I shall see Pretty tough to pull me away from my Montec's and Tekans I've been shooting for the last 6 years.
Guys a little about me, I'm not one for caring about what one says about me,I take my hunting very serious and am very crazy about scent . I go the extra mile also. I spend a day a week all though the year dedicated to make my hunts that much more easier. My best buck was a 192 7x6 14 years ago. I was just learning how to bowhunt at the time and used the antlers for rattling,Come to think of it now that's funny,they got stolen that same year from my stand. I haven't even come close to that since. On 2 of the 5 properties I hunt I have 3 bucks that will go over 200,2 on one and one on the other. Been chasing all 3 for at least 3 years and one I have been after since he was a 5x5 and maybe 140 then.
The only time I could careless about the wind is during the rutt cause most mature bucks are way to busy with their nose to the ground then about my scent wafting above his head. In the past 3 years I've had shot oppertunities at 2 of the big bucks at less than 18 yards. They choose to walk on the other side of the bush I was using as a guard.. Crap happens,that's bow hunting. I have a few moose also on the properties too so I'm leaning towards downing one with in the 1st 3 weeks of October during their rutt. That way my meat is out of the way for the year and I can zone in on the deer. There is numerous deer that are in the 140 to 150 range which is a blessing for me.