HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Muzzy 3 Blade Vs. Stinger Magnus 4 Blade - Results
Old 08-01-2005, 06:36 PM
HuntingEd
Nontypical Buck

Default Muzzy 3 Blade Vs. Stinger Magnus 4 Blade - Results

Hey ya'll,
I recently started a post discussing what type of broadhead to purchase. Upon reading your helpful replies, I purchased Muzzy 3 Blade 125 gr. and Stinger Magnus 4 Blade 125 gr. I conducted a test to determine which tip I will carry in my pursuit of P&Y records.

First off: I do not claim to be an expert or a pro and this is my first test of this kind. I have been shooting bows since I was 7 years old, and have shot competitively w/ shotguns. I will claim to be an above average shot. Ialso have a degree in Mechanical Engineering- so I also claim a respectable understanding of trajectory and arrow dynamics.

Set Up: Hoyt Vtec, 72#, 29 in, Gold Tip Pro Hunter 5575, 125 gr. tip, Whisker bisquit rest, Topsight sight, mechanical release.

Test Conditions: 90+ degree Heat, 85% Humidity, *All tests performed w/ same three arrows. *Block Foam target

Testing Procedure:
I initally tested with field points at 25 yrds, acheiving a 4 in group. (warm up). I then tested the stinger's. My results were horrible. They corkscrewed in about a 2-3 ft diameter, resulting in terrible inaccuracy. Using your tips as a guide, I decided to attempt to tune my bow to correct this problem. Using the Guide posted on Easton's website, I paper tuned my bow. My tuning attempts resulted in finding my rest to be too far to the right. (the "pro" who I bought my bow from just 1.5 weeks ago set it up). I incrementally adjusted my rest and achieved a clean pattern in the paper. I thenre-sighted my bow at15 yrds achiving a 1.5 inch group. This boosted my confidence and proved to me that an amaturecan tune a bow. Ithen tested thetwo types of heads from 15 yrds.

RESULTS:
Based on a 5 pt scale, 5 being the highest.
Accuracy: Stingers 4.5
Muzzy 4.7
Penetration: Stingers4.8
Muzzy 4.3