Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

What should i do with my life?

Old 05-01-2013, 05:37 PM
Spike

Default What should i do with my life?

I am in college and i feel i am not in the right major i am undetermined and not doing as well as i know i can. I love the outdoors and i love working and working hard. i want to be successful and i want to be determined! i know that if i am studying something i love i will do better at it and i will be more determined and when i am determined i will be successful. I love hunting and managing wildlife, but i also want to make money. Any suggestions?
Old 05-01-2013, 06:53 PM
Fork Horn

Go into something you like. Otherwise, you'll hate every minute of your work. Be advised, careers in the outdoors business is tough. Being a game warden isn't all it's cracked up to be. Your busiest time at work is during the best times to hunt. Also, I have friends I. The outdoors business, and once there, ou realize its not what you expect. A lot of corporate, fake, BS. If we could all make a living hunting, we'd be doing it. That's why it's a hobby for most.
Old 05-02-2013, 09:47 AM
Nontypical Buck

My advice is to get through college graduating with some sort of respectable, general degree such as business administration instead of recreation. Then find a large company that has land holdings to manage for all types of activities including hunting or a company that designs and/or builds land features (reservoirs, dams, habitat improvement, etc.) and apply. Get your foot in the door with the company and move laterally if necessary to land the job position you desire.