Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
How to tell if I hit a deer with a BOW >

How to tell if I hit a deer with a BOW

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

How to tell if I hit a deer with a BOW

Old 10-18-2016, 02:43 PM
Banned

Default How to tell if I hit a deer with a BOW

This is my first year bowhunting. I'm a very experienced gun hunter but I haven't had a problem telling if I hit one with that because my shots are close, my guns right on, and 11 of my 13 deer are headshots. Anyways any tips for telling right away if I hit one? Such as sounds the arrow makes, deer reaction?
Old 10-18-2016, 03:18 PM
Nontypical Buck

well first off, and this is MY opinion and well, a common rule of hunting
head shots are NOT the norm, due to the possible error , and its a smaller kill zone, yes when they work they work, but its NOT the area MOST HUNTERS target
I HIGHLY suggest you DON"T use that as a place to aim for with a bow, cannot tell you how many deer with arrows sticking out of there heads I have seen over the yrs on local Tv news shows and such, just makes us hunters look BAD!

Next, if you limit your shots to GOOD CLEAR shots at reasonable ranges, 99% of the time if your paying attention as you should, you can see the arrow HIT the deer, its HOW MOST archery hunters tell if they made a good hit or NOT
illuminated Nocks help a LOT if you ask me,
I have killed a LOT of deer with archery , and cannot recall a single time I didn;t see the impact, split second only, but enough to tell me if I hit or NOT