Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Cwd ????

Old 08-30-2015, 08:49 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by rockport
Seems like to me that if some deer have a genetic protection it would be wiser to let nature run its course than to create extra hunting seasons to keep population down. I guess I mean it seems like mother nature would take care of itself and basically do a more efficient job of it than man trying to play god.

just a thought....I'm no expert. It just seems like man thinning the herd is not selective of deer that have the genetic protection and mother nature is.

Based on that information it seems its a slow acting disease that mother nature already has her own cure for.
You kind of have a point, it is in mans nature to meddle.

I really can't tell you about mother natures efficiency. To many animals have gone extinct for it to be counted on.

It seems like after a hundred years, the tendency to run away from headlights would be instinctive in Deer, it isn't. Off topic, but Hedgehogs now run away from cars, they didn't used to. Evolution can be sort of be a hit or miss thing.

The Deer herds diminish too much and it is going to have a domino effect, which nobody can predict. Nature has it's feast and famine cycles, there is IMO no magic balance like the Greenies envision. The long term consequences of mans meddling, good intentioned or poorly executed, is a total unknown.

The Ranchers killed off most of the Deer in the south west Savanna country and the Condor went nearly extinct. Etc. The greenies had off-road traffic forbidden in/near the Condor preserve to protect the Condor, the brush closed the roads, a fire came along, the fire department couldn't get to the preserve to try and fight the fire, the few remaining Condors burnt to death. The law of unintended consequences.