Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Hunting with Family

Old 09-16-2014, 08:45 AM
Spike

Default Hunting with Family

Hi all! I am new to this hunting scene but I would really appreciate some input from experienced hunters. My husband and son love hunting and the outdoors in general. My son is 14 and just started to hunt and this fall is going elk hunting for the first time ever with my husband (his Dad). He's super excited! Just wanting some opinions here. My husband has a hunting shack where they are staying while they hunt and my husband's father (my father in law) and his friend are also going to go up to the shack and hunt for elk as well. I was really disappointed to hear that. I assumed that my son and husband would be hunting WITH my father-in-law, not that they would be forming two separate hunting parties. Am I thinking wrong? It seems like this is competition for each other, as they are both hunting close together at the same time for an elk. Plus my father-in-law has hunted elk for over 40 years and has some amazing racks. I thought he would take his grandson under his wing (and my hubby too, as he hasn't done much elk hunting). I thank anyone for replying to me, I wish all an enjoyable and safe hunting season!

Last edited by New Hunters Mom; 09-16-2014 at 01:29 PM. Reason: additional info
Old 09-16-2014, 09:12 AM
Boone & Crockett