HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   What am I doing Wrong ?? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/386229-what-am-i-doing-wrong.html)

CTJohnB 10-21-2013 04:07 PM

What am I doing Wrong ??

Hello, I have been hunting for 7 years now and I am wondering am I sitting in the wrong spots ??
I look for areas that show large amounts of sign such as droppings and lots of tracks, then I will pick a tree to set a stand, I have sat in oaks, I have sat in thick pines, laurels, tops of ridges, and depsite I am hunting state land I hardly see a deer !!! is it that there's few deer in my area or is it my strategy. as far as my scent control my gear stays on the cloths line all season it never see's the inside of my truck. the few times I have seen deer they were down wind and never bothered them a bit so I am good there, I am just wondering im sitting in a night activity area ? any ideas or advice to find more productive areas to place a stand would be a great help
Thank you for any and all advice
John

Murby 10-21-2013 07:12 PM

Just because a trail shows heavy use, doesn't mean its being used during hunting hours..
Also, deer tend to change their patterns as soon as hunting season starts..
You also have to sit almost perfectly still and quiet unless you're surrounded by something they can't see through.

There could be many things you're doing right and/or wrong. hard to say...

Wilcam47 10-21-2013 08:03 PM

what time are you coming into the stand/spot? What time are you leaving? How close to the trails are you? Are there acorns near? Are you using a bow, rifle or shotgun ? Can you use bait in your state?

rockport 10-21-2013 08:19 PM

Once you find the heavy deer sign try to figure out where they are coming from and move towards that. There might be less sign and less deer but more deer in the daylight.