Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Advice for November?

Old 10-11-2011, 06:07 PM
Spike

Default Advice for November?

I'm trying to get ready for November, but this is my first year hunting seriously during archery season, and I've never used calls/lures in the past. I always hunted with my dad, and he wasn't big on them, but now that I'm hunting alone I want to try.

Up here in Pa archery lasts until November 12th, and I understand the last week of October and the first week of November are supposed to be the best for buck hunting.

I've been out the past few days hunting along the edge of a large field planted with clover. I saw fifteen deer yesterday and seventeen today. Mostly does, fawns, a couple of spikes, fours, and a nice five that will grow into a handsome deer in the years to come.

I can pretty much clock when deer are going to show up here, but as the rut begins, is hunting this field going to do me any good? Bucks lose interest in food, but with such high doe activity would it still be a good place?

Also, any tips on lures to bring in a mature deer when that time comes? I know they're here, but so far are hiding.
Old 10-11-2011, 06:46 PM
Spike

Your best bet is to find bedding areas and where the nearest food and water source are. From there try to find the runways in the thickest cover to and from the feeding and bedding areas the big boys will be hanging around the does but won't be to willing to step out in the open. Thats were I like to uses mock scrapes and a few scent lines to attemp to strike there curiosity and get them to present themselves.
Old 10-12-2011, 12:07 AM
Nontypical Buck