Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Proper way to clean deer

Old 09-11-2009, 05:08 PM
Spike

Default Proper way to clean deer

Is the a manual or something showing the proper way or techniqes to clean a deer? I'm just getting into deer hunting and have never cleaned one myself. Thanks.

Last edited by shawnster88; 09-11-2009 at 06:48 PM.
Old 09-11-2009, 05:39 PM
Nontypical Buck

I'm sure you could find something online. Best bet is to have someone who's done it before help you.

Bottom line - everything inside needs to come out. From the
a-hole up as far as you can reach up the neck.

Try a Google on gutting deer.
Old 09-11-2009, 05:47 PM
Fork Horn

Ditto the Web search. Just go to Google and type field dressing deer. You should get all sorts of results with graphic pictures to show you. I bought a $4 video from the farm supply store myself which was a good investment since I had to do it myself with no help the first time about 5 years ago. Once you do it a few times its very easy. Like the previsous poster said, you pretty much just cut everything out, cutting around the anus and sex organs (being careful not to spill anything) and then cutting up to the rib cage and cutting everything inside out. Once you get the diaphram or whatever its called out that holds everything in, it all just rolls out and you need to make few final cuts. There's nothing like doing it the first time to get the hang of it, though.
Old 09-11-2009, 06:25 PM
Spike

Default RE: Best way to fieldress