Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Nikon or Burris? Your opinions >

Nikon or Burris? Your opinions

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Nikon or Burris? Your opinions

Old 07-15-2008, 02:38 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Nikon or Burris? Your opinions

I'm in the process of buying a scope for one of my rifles. I don't want to spend over $500.00. I've narrowed my choices to the Nikon Monarch 3-12x42 or 4-16x42or the Burris Fullfield II 4.5-14x42. Does anyone hunt with either of these? Any opinions on the two? To me, the clarity is just about identical in the two.
Old 07-15-2008, 02:54 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Nikon or Burris? Your opinions

I have a Nikon Buckmaster on a Ruger .270 and it is super clear and a great scope! I absolutely love it. I would have loved to gotten a monarch, but couldn't afford it at the time. I really like the nikon scopes and I am very impressed with them and have had nothhing but good experiences with them.
Old 07-15-2008, 03:39 PM
Nontypical Buck

Of the two you mentioned, the Nikon Monarch would be the hands down winner...IMO of course.
Old 07-15-2008, 03:45 PM
Nontypical Buck

I dont think you can go wrong with either of those scopes. When you pay that kind of money you get what you pay for. I have both burris and nikon scopes that are one step down from the ones you are looking at and I personally like the burris a bit better with the crosshairs the way they are.
Old 07-15-2008, 08:27 PM

I have the Nikon Monarch 4-16 x 42 SF ... and the Nikon Monarch 5-20 x 44 SF and I really love them both. I also have a Monarch handgun scope and 5 Nikon Buckmasters of various sizes.

I really like the Nikon over the Burris FF II. It is a little better quality than the Burris IMHO.