Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Climbing Tree Stand

Old 10-24-2005, 06:56 PM
Fork Horn

Default Climbing Tree Stand

I'm getting ready to use my new climbing tree stand for the first time. I've never used one of these before. Does anyone have any tips on using them. Anything to do or not to do?

thanks, ths78
Old 10-24-2005, 07:07 PM
Super Moderator

Default RE: Climbing Tree Stand

One thing.
Make sure the bottom has a rope od something tied from the
Bottom half to the top half.

If it isn't attached with some thing when
You get to the top the bottom can and will fall
Leaving you stranded in the tree with no way down.

Always wear a saftey harness going up and down and while in the tree.

Be safe and have fun.
Old 10-24-2005, 07:21 PM

10-4 on that. Also make sure you place the stand at the bottom of the treeat a upward angle.It willlevel itself out when you climb. Always carry apocket sawduct tape to the stand.Allows you to cut small limbs that are in the way. Always attach your climbing harness to the tree before climbing. It is better to keep the seat a little high when bow hunting it is easier to stand and shoot .
Old 10-25-2005, 03:43 AM
Typical Buck

DITTO Wear A Harness while climbing!!!
Old 10-25-2005, 07:43 AM
Nontypical Buck

Take your time climbing--you will get better at it with practice.
Old 10-25-2005, 09:02 AM
Typical Buck

wear your harness at all times!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
it may be a pain to wear while actually climbing but accidents can happen at any time!!!
Old 10-25-2005, 11:22 AM

The good ones are acctually pretty easy to use, and are safe and comfortable once you get used to using them.