Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Decoy questions

Old 09-12-2016, 03:59 PM
Spike

Default Decoy questions

hi im pretty new to waterfowl hunting, i have done mostly waterfowl and some big game in the past year. but i have been trying to get my hands on some decent decoys for a nice price. i would mostly be hunting fields, and occasional ponds. the only thing is field decoy are pretty high up in the price range especially for me being 16 years old, water decoys arent too bad in pricing and i have seen many pretty cheap used, but field decoys are extremely hard for me to find used. is there any way i could use water decoys in the field? even just temporarily? anything will help! the season is right around the corner and ive got nothing!
Thanks.
Old 09-25-2016, 12:00 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have about 12-15dz of the Outlaw Dekes in Super Magnum and Magnum. I have used them on ice, fields and water. They are vinyl and mount with a plastic stake. I have cut some of the stakes off and mounted a steel stake with them and when put in the ground and bit of wind, they move back and forth like feeding geese. They are thin like vinyl siding. Killed many ducks and geese over them and are easy for 1 person to carry 4-6 dz by themselves. They also make a duck deke that I have 2dz of and have put them out on the side and they work just fine also. We use these dekes in fields that are hard to walk for I don't have a 4 wheeler and walk in to everything so weight is an issue at times. I take my cart with layout blind, 6-8 dz outlaws, spinner and gear bag n shotgun and away I go. Maybe a dz full bodies and 2 guys can hunt very effectively.
Old 09-29-2016, 05:39 AM
Fork Horn

I got just the project for a young goose hunter with lots of time and not a lot of money. Make your own silos.
https://archeryrob.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/326/
Old 09-30-2016, 07:28 PM
Giant Nontypical