Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Video & Photography
 Another Rookie with questions? >

Another Rookie with questions?

Community
Video & Photography Tips, tricks, and suggestions for videotaping and photographing your hunts.

Another Rookie with questions?

Old 09-04-2008, 11:49 AM
Spike

Default Another Rookie with questions?

I am looking into filming my own hunts this year and am looking for some adivice. I (i mean my wife) have a Hitachi DZ-MV550 A (680 pixel CCD 18x optical zoom). I am looking for some direction, I will most likely be filming by myself, because I can't count on a buddy to film for me. I would like to keep the cost low to begin with. I was looking at the setup by bowseye.com. Does anybody have anything tosay good or bad about this setup? or suggestions to go in a different direction.

Like I said I am a rookie and don't understand a lot of the terminolgy so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Old 09-04-2008, 03:20 PM
Spike

Default RE: Another Rookie with questions?

I would not recommend this. I have not used this, but suspect this system like other systems will produce really shakey footage with poor quality. I suggest you get a good arm for the camera you already have and get practice using it solo. It's not as hard as you might think. When I'm solo, I mount the camera arm right around my right knee and face the woods so the wind is blowing onto my right side (camera looking upwind) where the deer are expected to come from. Having the camera here lets me adjust quickly with little movement.

JIM
Old 09-04-2008, 04:34 PM
Fork Horn

I'd say NO also for several reasons:
1. shaky footage
2. small ccd's equal bad quality footage
3. small lens equal narrow field of vision and poor quality footage