logo
 

Go Back   HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Video & Photography

Video & Photography Tips, tricks, and suggestions for videotaping and photographing your hunts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2008, 11:39 AM   #1
 
athigpen19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 26
Default Canon XL2

I have a question about a Canon XL2 videocamera that I have found on a website. Can someone look at this and tell me why it is so cheap?

http://soniccameras.com/catalog/product_info.php?redirect&origin=http://www.pricingdepot.com/compare.asp?item=9549a001aa&products_id=2296

Any help would be appreciated.
athigpen19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 11:48 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
solocamcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deer Country
Posts: 2,207
Default RE: Canon XL2

I'd call them and ask that question. Maybe it's re-conditioned?
solocamcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 06:03 PM   #3
Nontypical Buck
 
Chasebaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Junction,Illinois(SE)
Posts: 1,548
Send a message via Yahoo to Chasebaker
Default RE: Canon XL2

go to www.resellerratings.com

It says Sonic Cameras is 1.04 out of 10!
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Sonic_Cameras
__________________
Team Back-n-Black
M&R BOWSTRINGS STAFF COORDINATOR
Member of BAA,DRBA, and BASI. Illinois Bowfishers next year!
Ben Pearson Archery Factory Staff - Cajun Archery - Quick Draw Arrow Rests - Hydro-Turf -Backwater Bowfishing/Outdoors-Pro-Staff
2009 B.A.A Jr. Bowfisherman of the Year
Chasebaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 09:04 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
solocamcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deer Country
Posts: 2,207
Default RE: Canon XL2

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Chasebaker

go to www.resellerratings.com

It says Sonic Cameras is 1.04 out of 10!
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Sonic_Cameras
Which translate into....Don't do it!!!
solocamcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 10:10 PM   #5
Nontypical Buck
 
MichiganWhitetails74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to MichiganWhitetails74
Default RE: Canon XL2

I stay away from the Gimics and always buy from B&H Video....

Everything they do is #1
__________________
"Cherish your time in the woods"

www.bonesplitter.com
www.huntingworkshop.com
http://www.bouleaublanc.com/


Hoyt Alpha Max 32
NAP Spitfire XP's
Gold Tip Ultra Light 500's, Cobra Single Adjustable
MichiganWhitetails74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 11:05 PM   #6
 
athigpen19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 26
Default RE: Canon XL2

Thanks guys... I knew there must be something wrong. I believe I will stick to only reputable dealers then. Thanks again.
athigpen19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 11:39 PM   #7
Member
 
hoosierhunter2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 88
Default RE: Canon XL2

There are ALOT of phoney dealers out there, they are all usually in New York or New Jersey. They are bait and switchers! They advertise an extremely low price, then you call to order and they then monkey back and forth and for days to try and get you to buy a bunch of other gear with it to drive the price up to where they can afford to sell the camera. If you don't, then they usually won't sell the camera to you for the price advertised, etc. It's all a BIG SCAM!! Only buy from reputable online dealers like BH Photo, Adorama, New Egg, and several others.
hoosierhunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 11:43 AM   #8
Fork Horn
 
midsouth_hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 455
Default RE: Canon XL2

I concur about the phoney electronics web sites. I did buy a DSLR camera online at one of those sites once and wish I had not after about two weeks. Within 24 hrs. got a call from them to confirm my order (actually to strongarm me into buying other items.) I stood firm on not buying anything else and after that I could notget hold of anybody or received the camera for almost a month and half. They finally sent it but what a hassle. If it is too good to be true, it is.....
__________________
Mathews Switchback XT

Knight TK2000
midsouth_hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 04:36 PM   #9
Fork Horn
 
skin_dog1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location:
Posts: 262
Default RE: Canon XL2

those places sucker you in then tell you , "oh all you bought was the body, now you have to add on a lense, viewfinder (color or B/W), battery, charger...... It's a gimic for sureand I almost fell for it when I bought my xha1 but asked toughquestions. The salesman got agravated with me and I finally told him off and went to b&h.
__________________
covertscoutingcamera.com
scoutguard550.com
skin_dog1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 04:39 PM   #10
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kansas city, Missouri
Posts: 2,573
Default RE: Canon XL2

hey skin dog what happened to your website?
__________________
hoyt katera
Magnus stingers
Black Gold sight
Maxima Hunter arrows
QAD ultra rest hd
Steven McBee is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon GL1? solocamcan Video & Photography 4 05-23-2008 08:02 PM
Canon GL1 vs. Canon GL2 Chasebaker Video & Photography 2 02-08-2008 12:53 PM
Canon Gl2 rdallas White Knuckle Productions 2 10-17-2007 07:35 AM
New Canon HD flip13 White Knuckle Productions 4 10-14-2007 02:37 PM
Canon xl1 or xl2 bout Wanted 0 06-22-2007 09:14 AM

 

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:22 PM.