Upland Bird Hunting Whether you are into pheasants or grouse, quail or chukars, find out what you need to know here.

Dove cleaning

Old 09-02-2002, 11:11 AM

Default Dove cleaning

Can anyone explain or direct me to a website that has good info on dove cleaning? I'm pretty new to all this and need to know. Thanks!
Old 09-02-2002, 01:17 PM

Default RE: Dove cleaning

It's easy we pull the head off & wings off then poke your finger under breast and pull. Remove the skin and save the heart and gizzard if you want. Qail I clean like you would a chicken.
Gool luck.
Old 09-02-2002, 04:42 PM

I've done about 6 so far and just bagged the rest of my limit for the day. The only problem I seem to have in pulling the breast out is up by the shoulder area (where the breast connects with the wing). I'm getting it alright though. As far as cooking, are they cooked as a breast unit with the hard underside surface or is the meat removed from that first?
Old 09-02-2002, 05:01 PM

I just pluck the fethers near the breast. I take prunning sciscors or whatever those things are called and clip the wings off as close as I can. Then I rip the skin off over the breast and put some fingers in under the back of the breast and pull up and rip it off. Then I'll take a knife to it and cut the meat off the breast bone.

Nic
Old 09-02-2002, 09:32 PM
Spike

Easiest quickest way to go about this....

Grab feathers near bottom of breast make sure you grab some skin with the feathers rip up towards the head you should be able to get all the skin off the breast with one pull, pick up a pair of Kitchen sicciors and cut wings and head off, throw meat in bowl with water
Old 09-02-2002, 11:55 PM

I leave the breast bone attacthed and eat the meat off of like a t-bone. We usally cook them out doors on the grill.
Old 09-03-2002, 08:12 PM
Giant Nontypical