HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Upland Bird Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/upland-bird-hunting-8/)
-   -   Grouse Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/upland-bird-hunting/207405-grouse-hunting.html)

Youngbuck41 09-17-2007 04:01 PM

Grouse Hunting

I'm kind of new to grouse hunting and have heard from a lot of people that it's not worth hunting them early in the season because it is so think and there is so much cover for them to hide in. Do you agree? If not what are some tips for early season grouse hunting. Thanks.

wisbowhunter2009 09-18-2007 05:03 PM

RE: Grouse Hunting

i go grouse hunting and i've shot 20 so far this year.. i only hunted 4 days and 5 grouse a day is the limit i think.. i just like to drive down dirt roads and go like that but i also like to hop on the fourwheeler and go in the woods or just walk...

sproulman 09-20-2007 06:21 PM

ORIGINAL: Youngbuck41

I'm kind of new to grouse hunting and have heard from a lot of people that it's not worth hunting them early in the season because it is so think and there is so much cover for them to hide in. Do you agree? If not what are some tips for early season grouse hunting. Thanks.
i hunt grouse here in pa and its very hard..
i have dog also ..
people who get a lot of grouse do it from road hunting which is illegal but they are ones that get all grouse....

fun is not killing ,its FLUSH..
i try not to kill very many as i want grouse to hunt.....

daleh 09-20-2007 10:22 PM

Typical answer from a True sportsman. I bet he also kills deer that way.
Upland bird hunting is not how much you kill.
Bird Hunting is about
1. The conservation of the birds and the enviroment
2. The time spent in God's country with a birddog
3. Fellowship with friends

Keith Miller 09-21-2007 07:49 PM

u guys are treehuggers! i mean want to have fun when hunting but i hunt 4 food and dnt shoot out the truck but ill get out and shoot em.