Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
Technique for locating toms >

Technique for locating toms

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Technique for locating toms

Old 12-24-2016, 06:34 AM
Fork Horn

Default Technique for locating toms

I am brand new to the turkey world and have a question for yall experienced turkey gunners. I plan on hunting public land next spring and theres a spot i deer hunted this year, its surrounded by water on 3 sides. I call it a lil hardwood peninsula. I saw a few turkeys in there in the evenings. Its about 3 hrs away from my home. So my plan is to go out to the spot the day before the season opens in the dark am and call out a few owl hoots and pray i hear one gobble back at me so i can get an idea of where to setup the next mornin. Is this a good tactic ? Does the owl call actually work?
Old 12-24-2016, 06:43 AM
Giant Nontypical

That should work, but do it the night before the opener just before it gets dark. They may still be in there and not answer, so if you don't get a response, I'd still be set up in a strategic spot before daylight opening morning.
Old 12-24-2016, 07:24 AM
Boone & Crockett

Just don't call to them with a turkey call. Sometimes just slamming your car door will cause them to shock gobble. A loud crow call will work as well.
Old 12-24-2016, 08:10 AM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by Topgun 3006
That should work, but do it the night before the opener just before it gets dark. They may still be in there and not answer, so if you don't get a response, I'd still be set up in a strategic spot before daylight opening morning.
Ok thank you
Old 12-24-2016, 08:11 AM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by Oldtimr
Just don't call to them with a turkey call. Sometimes just slamming your car door will cause them to shock gobble. A loud crow call will work as well.