Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
Bumped turkey off roost in the fall >

Bumped turkey off roost in the fall

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Bumped turkey off roost in the fall

Old 10-12-2016, 04:53 PM
Spike

Default Bumped turkey off roost in the fall

I'm a novice hunter and can be a bit impatient.
I had patterned a flock of fall hens to a roost, but tonight I was in the wrong set up facing the wrong direction and too close. I drove the half that noticed me some where else and bumped 1 off the roost when I tried to get out of the woods.

I'm not sure of the best course of action now is. I had planned on staying a way for a few days and returning. I would appreciate any advice, I'm self taught and these lessons are starting to sting.

Last edited by Milesb; 10-12-2016 at 05:17 PM.
Old 10-12-2016, 07:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

So it's actually a normal tactic to break up flocks in the morning, at least. Naturally, in a perfect world we'd pattern turkeys perfectly and never have to do this, but some hunters do try to scatter the flock and then use their mouth call to make them believe the dominant female hen is trying to re-assemble them.
Granted it sounds like you did this in the evening. I do not know how turkeys react to this; hopefully they'll pick up where they left off and you'll punch your tag, next time.
Old 10-13-2016, 05:50 AM
Spike

Appreciate the reply, put me a little more at ease. I did some reading and it turns out some use the break up tactic at night aswell apparently. Same premise you'll return in the morning for them to regroup and intercept one. However this morning I think I might have only imagined the tree yelps of a lone turkey while the ran came down. I don't want to push them on to the neighbouring property so I think I'll leave that neck of the woods alone for a few days now.