Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Tough Merriams - Need Advice >

Tough Merriams - Need Advice

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Tough Merriams - Need Advice

Old 04-21-2008, 05:44 PM
Spike

Default Tough Merriams - Need Advice

This is a little lengthy, I apologize. Just hoping to get some insight from fellow turkey hunters out there. I reside in Utah, where you have to draw a tag, so I have been purhasing OTC tags for the past 3 years in Colorado. I've been hunting this particular spot in SW Colorado for the past 3 years. It's around 7700 ft in elevation.

Anyway, this particular area is dominated by Ponderosa Pine with quite a bit of oak brush. There is quite a bit of water in the area, in the form of old stock ponds. There are 6 ponds that I'm aware of within 5-6 mile radius. There is always quite a bit of sign (tracks) in this area, but I have yet to call in or run onto a mature bird. It receives very little hunting pressure, I have yet to run into another hunter in my three years hunting this area. I was down there a total of 6 days last year (May3-5, then again May 18-19) (3 hrs from where I live), and managed to call in a couple different jakes, and had an interesting experience with a young jenny. She flew down off the roost one morning with another hen, and came within about 10 feet of where I was calling and proceeded to lay down by me. I was sure she would take off when I got up to move to another location, but she actually followed me. I'd setup at my next stop and she would just eat, and then lay back down. It was quite odd.