Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Trail Cameras
Looking to buy a trail cam BUT >

Looking to buy a trail cam BUT

Community
Trail Cameras Post your trail cam photos, reviews, tips, and suggestions here.

Looking to buy a trail cam BUT

Old 09-24-2015, 08:26 PM
Spike

Default Looking to buy a trail cam BUT

so im looking to buy a trail cam and got some brands in mind...i really like alot of the PRIMOS one..but...is it really worth it if i am a avid scouter??? i usually track the deer buy the prints in the mud,dirt and droppings and all that..measurements...study beds and trails and same with the turkey. I really like the idea of the cams beecause you never know what you will see and maybe one day ill see a buck that i have never seen roaming there before...but i would be able to tell that by hoof prints and other things..so is it really worth it to get a trail cam? i am new to trail cams and was raised old school scouting...but i feel like it cant hurt and MIGHT give me a edge. THoughts? WHy did you get a cam?
Old 09-25-2015, 08:22 AM
Spike

I like them in the fact it help to pattern them as far a daytime movement and it also gives you an indication of when the rut is beginning to warm up. You will absolutely see deer on the cam you haven't seen before. I also use them to track predator numbers etc also. I rely on my scouting and knowledge for stand placement.
Old 09-27-2015, 04:30 PM
Spike

stupid question but how can you follow the rut through the camera...like how can you tell through the pictures...im interested now lol
Old 09-27-2015, 04:53 PM
Typical Buck