Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

youth bow

Old 01-01-2014, 05:56 PM
Spike

Default youth bow

My 12 year old boy has a 24" draw. Here in Illinois you must have 40lb draw. He is wanting a recurve. I am thinking a Samick Sage with 50lb draw at 28" should be 40lb at his draw. And how do we set up arrows. Short or stay around 28". I am just getting into traditional archery so any advice would be great.
Old 01-01-2014, 07:55 PM
Spike

I have 55# samick sage bow and it shoots great. However, my younger brother who is 13 cannot even come close to pulling it back far enough for him to properly shoot. I highly suggest getting a lower set poundange. If he ever out grows the lower poundage just buy new limbs for the higher poundage. If he struggles too much when he's first starting out he may get discouraged and lose interest. Becoming accurate with a recurve is already a difficult task so I would start out with a 40# maybe a 45# so your son isn't getting overstrained and he can learn good form. As a side note, the sammick sage is a perfect begginner bow its not the most beautiful thing but it is built well and is more than capable of getting any job done that you ask of it.
Old 01-02-2014, 07:03 AM
LBR
Boone & Crockett

Fourty pounds for a 12 year old is probably too much. Better to wait until he can handle the draw weight rather than make it uncomfortable, develop bad habits, etc.

The Sage is a great bow. You can go even cheaper with a Cartel riser and Sage limbs. Call Lancaster/Trad Tech and ask to speak to John Wert--he can set you up.

If you are looking for something fancier, call 3 Rivers or Kustom King and see what they have on hand.

For arrows, I'd leave them long, but tuning is the major factor. Leaving them long may let you use the same arrows as his draw length increases, but you want the arrows flying perfectly for the best penetration when hunting.
Old 01-04-2014, 09:14 PM
Spike