Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 I'm hoping I didn't make a mistake buying.. >

I'm hoping I didn't make a mistake buying..

Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

I'm hoping I didn't make a mistake buying..

Old 09-11-2007, 02:10 PM
BKE
Fork Horn

Default I'm hoping I didn't make a mistake buying..

the 45lb'er and not a 50. Picked up a recurve and although I'm still grinning each time I shoot I'm feeling a bit leery when I think about hunting with it next year. I knew there would be a world of differance between this and the cam1/2 but it's even more than I thought, I was expecting a bit more zip from the recurve. Any advice from those of youwho are experienced on a set up(arrows wgt/BH's) for whitetail will be appreciated.
Old 09-11-2007, 02:29 PM

Default RE: I'm hoping I didn't make a mistake buying..

Im no expert, but about 10 grains per pound of arrow weight is good for bows in the 45 pound range. (45 pound bow = 450 grain arrow). A sharp 2 blade broadhead would probably be the best choice.45 pounds is plenty for deer, as long as you hit them in the right spot. So, as long as you are accurate with it, that bow will be fine. Also, for your first bow, 45 was probably the best choice, since there is no let off, that extra5 pounds is a pretty big jump.

This fall i'm using a 42 pound recurve with 500 grain arrows, because they flew the best. It is not fast as with a lighter arrow, but I don't doubt it will pass through a deer.

Good luck to ya.
Old 09-11-2007, 04:58 PM
Giant Nontypical