Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 recurve out of a treestand >

recurve out of a treestand

Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

recurve out of a treestand

Old 07-25-2005, 06:36 PM

Default recurve out of a treestand

Was just browsing some posts on traditional area and this thought came to mind (I am new to traditional and plan on getting a recurve within the next month to start out and give it a try)...the question was this, due to the fact that it seems that most shots at deer with traditional archery is at most 20 yards ( i am assuming recurve and longbow are about the same max distance - don't really know) is your aiming style different out of a treestandwhen a deer is real close 10-15 yards from the tree...i know witha compound that can be a pretty steep angle just wondering how it would translate woth a recurve
Old 07-25-2005, 07:54 PM

Default RE: recurve out of a treestand

Pratice, bend at the waist. It's not to different, I aim right where I want the arrow to hit. The hard part is drawing when they're in the shooting lane.If they are close you may have to lower your aiming point.
Old 07-25-2005, 08:50 PM

I have never shot a deer with a recurve out of a tree but I have practiced with one quit a bit. It is suprisingly easy, when I am sitting down on the stand I fell vary stable. I dont realy aim so I didnt change anything, just looked at a spot and let it go. I have only shot out of it once or twice with my long bow, the ladder has been on the job for a while, and it wasent as easy as with the recurve.
Old 07-26-2005, 04:05 AM
Nontypical Buck