Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Target Panic

Old 07-21-2014, 05:09 PM
Typical Buck

Default Target Panic

I have been shooting and hunting with a bow for 30+ years. For the last 10 years I have struggled with severe target panic. I was still able to take deer with no problems but when it was target shooting the instant i knew that I was going to pull the trigger I could not make myself put the pin any closer to the bullseye than a coulple inches. If I told myself that I wasnt going to shoot I could hold the pin solid on the bull for a good 30 seconds or better. But as soon as I decided to shoot BAM the pin would fall coulpe inches low and I could not make myself put it back on the target. I tried many different techniques some helped some didnt but none seemed to last. I was to the point of giving the bow up. I was over it!
A few weeks ago I got access to a back tension release to be specific a carter honey. I had heard these type releases where the way to go for people with target panic but didnt want to spend the high price for another failure. Man alive! Am I glad I did! My shooting has done a complete turn around and my confidence is higher than its been in a decade.
Sorry for the long post but I am psyched and wanted to share.
Old 07-21-2014, 06:59 PM
Fork Horn

I had target panic bad one year. Whenever my pin would come onto the target, I would punch the trigger release. To stop it, I started to shoot with my eyes shut, and just concentrated on proper technique. It took a few sessions but it worked. I now shoot with a thumb release and that helps a lot with the flinching.
Old 07-22-2014, 03:28 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default The Problem

Target panic has nothing to do with modern archery equipment. It's mental and mental came before the compound bow.