Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
Help setting up a bow >

Help setting up a bow

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Help setting up a bow

Old 12-15-2009, 09:41 AM
Fork Horn

Default Help setting up a bow

My wife and I just moved and our new house has a basement. I decided to turn it into my hunting cavern. I intend to set up my personal little workshop down there with a paper tuner, press, vise, everything because I am tired of paying other people to do work on my wife and I bows. There is only one problem. I dont know how to work on a bow. I am very knowledgeable on how the bow works but I have never actually done the work myself. My question is, is there a "archery bible" that would tell me everything I need to know to start practicing. Thanks.
Old 12-15-2009, 11:20 AM
Spike

I am also relatively new to doing my own tuning and I've got to say that the posts stuck to the top of the "Technical" thread here are awesome. They are more than enough to get you started. The fact is, you know you need a press and a vice, and you probably know you need a few other things as well. Thats 90% of the battle. On top of that, you're interested in doing the work yourself - to me that says you've got some tinkering/mechanical skills, which adds another 5%. As soon as you make your first turn of a limb bolt or lock your bow into a vice or press you'll realize you absolutely know what you're doing.

Be forewarned though, you will spend the rest of your life chasing perfection. I've been at for only a year or so and I already am aware of this. However, the time and care you take to tune your own bow will undoubtedly result in a more accurate, higher performing weapon than you have right now.

As the Nike ads used to say - Just do it!
Old 12-15-2009, 11:38 AM
bigcountry