logo
 

Go Back   HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2008, 04:41 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Willow Springs, NC
Posts: 26
Default How many twists do I put in my new bow string?

I have a new string to put on my bow and dont know how much to twist it before I put it on. It is for my HCA TSSR. which has adjustable draw length (mine is 29) and draw weight. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks
Matt
__________________
"do me a favor and pull your bottom lip over your head...then swallow"
mddoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 10:17 PM   #2
Typical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 760
Default RE: How many twists do I put in my new bow string?

IF the string comes from a good string maker the needed twists will already be in the string. You might have to add or subtract a few twists to get your bow into specs but it should be very minimal twists that you will need to add or subtract.
archer 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 02:14 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Willow Springs, NC
Posts: 26
Default RE: How many twists do I put in my new bow string?

Thanks, got it taken care of at the shop today. I was going to try to press it myself withmy bowmaster but I had to take it the whole way down today at the shop because the guy I bought it from backed the limbs out too much and they would not go back down because they slid some. The string was high quality and no twists had to be added.

__________________
"do me a favor and pull your bottom lip over your head...then swallow"
mddoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 08:39 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 188
Send a message via Yahoo to Virginia Archer
Default RE: How many twists do I put in my new bow string?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: mddoss
The string was high quality and no twists had to be added.
Might have been High Quality material but being a String builder.....you are gonna have alot of Problems with that string!! If it was the Cable maybe not so many Problems!! Any Quality String builder Adds between 1 or 1.5 or even up to 2 Twist per inch! Then Serves the String after the Twist have been added and usually under high tensionto keep from having Peep Rotation!! If it didn't come with any Twist in it I'd Send it back!!!
__________________
Rock Solid Strings Pro/Field Staff Director
Aftershock Archery Pro-Staff
Mossy Oak Pro Staff Virginia
Gold Tip.....AEP......TRU Ball
Viper Archery Products.....Toxonics
Virginia Archer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 01:10 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Willow Springs, NC
Posts: 26
Default RE: How many twists do I put in my new bow string?

The string did come with twists. I cant remember the name but the guy at the shop I go to builds strings also and says he could build one better but the one I have cost around $90. It came with the bow when I bought it because the guy I bought it from got a little too close with his lighter![:@]
__________________
"do me a favor and pull your bottom lip over your head...then swallow"
mddoss is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many twists should be in the string? Mathewsboy Crossbows 4 10-20-2006 07:24 PM
barrel twists spencer0071 Guns 8 11-03-2005 11:05 AM
How many twists??? mlaubner Technical 11 04-30-2003 11:18 AM
barrel twists hardyhunter Black Powder 7 12-08-2002 09:03 PM
helical twists? hoythunter48 Technical 5 09-14-2002 11:31 PM

 

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:54 AM.