Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Draw length too short? >

Draw length too short?

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Draw length too short?

Old 01-23-2008, 07:40 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Draw length too short?

First off, I want to appologize for the fact that I only have one cellphone pic to ask my question off, but I hope it is enough to get some input from.

When I started college, my archery coach switched my DL from 29 3/8" (I agree this was way too long)to 27 3/8". I've been shooting this for a couple months now and the more I shoot, the more I feel that my bow arm isn't straight enough. I feel slightly bunched up and it seems like I would have better bone-bone contact and a more inline bow arm if I made my DL a little longer. I took a pic tonight and it looks like my bow arm elbow is rather bent. I realize its hard to get a good idea based only off of this pic, but do you think I could get away with moving up to the 28" modules where I could try 27 5/8", 28", and 28 3/8" draw lengths?

Thanks.

Old 01-23-2008, 07:48 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Draw length too short?

Is the bent arm what the coach is teaching? Most don't teach that method but the student is the deciding factor.

Is the coach certified, if so what level?

Looks like you could straighten it more at the draw you are now.But I agreeit does look as if you could go longer but you need to discuss that with the coach.
Old 01-23-2008, 08:05 PM
Nontypical Buck