Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 what you need to refletch your arrows >

what you need to refletch your arrows

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

what you need to refletch your arrows

Old 03-11-2007, 08:44 PM

Default what you need to refletch your arrows

well this summer i wanted to get the supplies i need to refletch my arrows i have never done this before or even tried so i would like any answers of where to start...im mainly doin this that way i can find out what vanes or feathers work best for my setup and not have to worry about askin someone to take me across the city to get them refletched....i wanna know things like the type of glue ,the type of fleching deal...exc.
Old 03-12-2007, 02:38 AM

Default RE: what you need to refletch your arrows

there are many choices.
For glue, i use the super glue gel type, sets up fast and holds good.
For a jig, I have an Arizona EZ Fletch, it works great with vanes but is a pain with feathers. It also is a PITA if you need to replace only one fletch on an arrow.
I also have a JoJan multi fletcher that works with feathers or vanes, it does 6 arrows at a time. they also sell it in a single model.

Just kind of depends on how much you want to spend to get started?
Old 03-12-2007, 07:21 AM
Nontypical Buck

If you plan on doing this for any length of time I would suggest the following:

Bitzenberger jig (straight, or left/right helical would be your choice). The Bitz is undeniably the best jig made. They last for decades (mines over 30 years old). One jig can be used for straight or left/right helical just by changing clamps and adjusting the clamp accordingly. Did I say you'll never wear it out????

Fletching---your choice here. That's part of the idea of doing your own. You get to experiment. Vanes, feathers, you name it.