Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 How long does it take.... >

How long does it take....

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

How long does it take....

Old 03-09-2007, 08:00 AM

Default How long does it take....

Okay, I am very new to all of this..But generally speaking, how long does it take to get the pins on a sight adjusted correctly?

Oh, and I waswondering if going back and forth between glasses and contacts would make any difference?A few times I wore my contacts when shooting the targetand the other time I wore my glasses, when I felt I just didn't want to mess with putting contacts in because my eyes were irritated anyway, so I just wore the glasses. I wonder if that would make just a tad bit of difference in trying to dial in precisely the pins on the sight?My glasses are the no line bi-focal, but my contact is only for distance? Just curious? Anyone have any thoughts on this?

~ Lady_Huntress ~ in northern Illinois

Old 03-09-2007, 08:34 AM

Default RE: How long does it take....

When I sight in a new bow or sight it usually takes me about 20 minutes. I can "gap" the sight pins pretty close because I shoot the same general weight arrows and draw weight all the time. I'll get my 20 yard pin set and have it near the top of the range of adjustment and then step back to 40 yards to sight in the 3rd pin. When I'm comfortable with the point of impact at 40 yards, I'll "gap" the rest of the pins into position. This gets me pretty close and takes me about 20 minutes. Only more shooting and practice will bring lasting confidence in my settings after the initial sight in.

Good luck shooting!
Old 03-09-2007, 08:39 AM