Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Tuning Methods to prepare for hunting season... >

Tuning Methods to prepare for hunting season...

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Tuning Methods to prepare for hunting season...

Old 02-27-2007, 08:57 PM

Default Tuning Methods to prepare for hunting season...

I am pretty new to archery and am going to try turkey hunting this year with my bow, to get my first bow kill . Anyway, I was wondering the different methods you guys use to tune your bow to get it in top form for deer and turkey hunting. I was told that I could be shooting good groups but if my bow isnt properly tuned, I could loose a lot of energy and penetration and possibly wound my target. Any methods and instructions how to do so would be great. If theres a website or something that shows all of this that would be great. Thanks for the help. I have a compound, 56# draw, pretty standard beginner setup.
Old 02-27-2007, 08:59 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Tuning Methods to prepare for hunting season...

http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=2020182

I just posted on this subject.
Old 03-01-2007, 04:10 AM

The only thing I'll add is that tuning for broadhead flight is more critical than tuning for field tips. It is very important to design and fine tune your arrow for the correct spine. You also want to make sure you have enough weight up front. Light weight broadheads on improperly spined arrows are the biggest reason penetration can be poor on high draw weight bows.

Loading weight on the front end and creating high drag on the rear of a properly spined arrow will give you a great shooting, high penetrating broadhead tipped arrow.
Old 03-01-2007, 07:58 AM
Nontypical Buck