Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > After The Hunt > Taxidermy
What is it worth? 1936 Elk? >

What is it worth? 1936 Elk?

Taxidermy Tips and questions about taxidermy and the art of preserving the memory of your hunt.

What is it worth? 1936 Elk?

Old 10-20-2017, 09:32 AM
Spike

Default What is it worth? 1936 Elk?

Greetings,
I'm new to hunting and the forum but look forward to learn and connect with other hunters in my area (SoCal). I'm starting my hunting education in January. So please excuse my lack of lingo and knowledge.

My parents in law would like to sell an Elk head. They had it forever, and it was left behind by the original owner of their cabin in Southern California. I can send you a link to photos via pm, I need to be more active before it lets me post URLs.

The tag says it's from 1936, Wyoming. The antler is around 35 in. wide. I thought of selling it on Craigslist but am not sure how much it's worth and if there are other, better places to sell it.

I appreciate any feedback. Thank you!
Old 10-20-2017, 12:20 PM
Giant Nontypical

Mounts are worth very little to anyone who didn't take the animal. You can look on EBAY and see what they sell for. Unless it is a record book head it is worth maybe a couple hundred tops.
Old 10-20-2017, 01:10 PM
Boone & Crockett

Mounts from that era are not worth much. The taxidermy procedures back in 1936 do not hold a candle to those of today. In addition, it was common practice to use poisons like arsenic on specimens back then to kill insects that would attack the specimen. That poison can be transferred to people who handle the specimen. Honestly, I would not have a mount from the 30s in my home.
Old 10-20-2017, 01:15 PM
Spike

I see. How about the mounts that are offered for a couple of grands? Ours is a 6 x 6 and quite big.

Last edited by PatRuger; 10-20-2017 at 01:17 PM.
Old 10-20-2017, 01:16 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by Oldtimr