Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > After The Hunt > Taxidermy
Need advice on how to mount my first buck >

Need advice on how to mount my first buck

Community
Taxidermy Tips and questions about taxidermy and the art of preserving the memory of your hunt.

Need advice on how to mount my first buck

Old 11-14-2015, 03:02 PM
Spike

Default Need advice on how to mount my first buck

Hi guys,
Im new to hunting only started last year finaly got my first deer this week . I don't have the money for a big shoulder mount at the momment and its not a really impresive rack either ( 8 points ) but still pretty special to me being my first so i really want to mount it and keep it around a long time. Hoping anybody has any good ideals . Given my little budget i was thinking a european mount or one of those kits with just a plaque and skull cap or what somme of the guys around here do witch is just cutting the skull around the antlers and leaving the fur then bolting it to a plaque . I know its all preference but i still haven't develope a taste for these things yet but dont want to be disapointed down the road and don't want my wife to mount my head beside it after i put it up on the wall . Would appreciate any advice thx .

Last edited by stealthhunter0130; 11-14-2015 at 03:34 PM. Reason: Error
Old 11-14-2015, 03:52 PM
Boone & Crockett

If you just cut off the top of the head and bolt it to a plaque, the flesh under the skin and the skin will rot and you will get maggots and eventually the hair will fall out. Not a good plan.
Old 11-14-2015, 04:08 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by Oldtimr
If you just cut off the top of the head and bolt it to a plaque, the flesh under the skin and the skin will rot and you will get maggots and eventually the hair will fall out. Not a good plan.
This is a good way to mount it as long as you take the skin of so its down to bone like oldtimr said...after that you can cover the bone part with fabric of any color you'd like to make it look nicer