Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Target Archery
Homemade bow target >

Homemade bow target

Target Archery Paper, foam or video screens, all things related to target archery. (Please use the IBO forum for IBO related posts)

Homemade bow target

Old 08-28-2016, 12:10 PM
Super Moderator

FFW, I started shooting archery when I wa syoung and had no money as well. So I know the feeling. What I shot for the first two years was a box filled with rags, clothes, blankets, whatever old material you have. Pack it in nice and tight then close up the box with duct tape to make sure it stays packed. As the box takes more hits rotate it, turn it, patch it up if you can. Keep using the duct tape to patch it up. The packed cloth will stop your arrows and eventually you'll need to get a new box and pack it again. This will work. It's not perfect, but it will work. I strongly suggest getting on youtube and watching some beginner videos. I learned allot that way. Don't get discouraged. You can learn to shoot well, just keep at it. Good luck and ask any questions you have.
-Jake
Old 08-29-2016, 05:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by FirefightersWife
That'd be a good idea too, did they work for targets?
Oh yeah, I shot straw bales for years. We also use to find dock foam floating up on the river banks.
Old 09-24-2016, 01:29 PM
Fork Horn

Feed sacks.Used to be bark sacks but are plastic now. Stuff them with rags for field tips. Last a long time.
I have also made a box about a foot deep out of wood with a chicken wire front. Stuff it with rags.
Lots of people start out shooting home made targets.
Spend any money on arrows.
Old 01-01-2017, 09:56 AM
Spike

I've also done archery target with straw bales. Works pretty good! Good luck and I liked the couch cushion idea - very innovative!
Old 01-27-2017, 06:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Ha, I'm reviewing my DIY homemade archery target